remove ad
shower mohawk
Dec 18, 2001
10:55 pm

'One more story I could sell...' - Luke Doucet

One of my favourite/regular customers came into the store today before I arrived and asked what time I was working at. She came back after two, once I was on, with a bag from our store. I was joking with her 'oh, what return do you have for me now?' and she just smiled and pulled two christmas tins out of the bag. She handed them to me and said 'Merry Christmas', as is the tradition. I opened one to reveal homemade fudge and the other contained homemade bits & bites. I think I was in heaven. I hugged her and thanked her and told her how much it meant to me. It's little [big] things like that make me stay where I am. How could one not? I was so close to tears, it was just too beautiful a moment. Couldn't have scripted it better myself.

seated, second cup, place d'orleans shopping centre, busiest time of the year [even though it seems empty]. seated next to a couple, plainly out on a first date of sorts. the small talk is obvious -- families, anecdotes, safe territories. nothing about holiday fighting over money. small, simple stories, snatches of their personal life without actually being personal. suddenly, silence falls over them. i grimace, knowing this is the make-or-break moment. if they can get through this... upon glancing over, though, i see it's okay. he's just taken her small hand in his. i smile softly. at least two more people will have someone else over the holidays and, hopefully, through the cold winter nights, while thoughts of valentine's day dance around their sweet heads.

Can you be as passionate as Hawksley in hawksley burns for isadora/his letters to me?

I want to sit, naked, with you and read hawksley burns for isadora cover to cover. the comfort of being naked with you.

'what are you doing?' 'writing lewd poetry' 'about me?' 'yeah.' 'yum.'

the bottom line is love