remove ad
shower mohawk
Apr 22, 2002
09:33 pm

'You're still beautiful, you're just not for me.' - Grace Babies

[Applicable to so many, so eloquent.]

I forgot how much I adored Joel Plaskett and his amazing skills on the gui-tah and vocal chords until Friday night. That boy is one divine [dee-vine] musician. No one can touch him. And we realized mid-way through his set that he reminded us of a certain boy in my life a little too much [copping style?]. Telling stories of rockstars encounters and whatnot. Grand. He even played 'C'mon Teacher'!! And, of course, 'Oh My Soul!'. It was beautiful to see him perform again [read: the Horseshoe] in a place where he isn't booted off the stage at eleven p.m. sharp. Afforded the opportunity for two encores or more...

Did I mention we danced like assholes for the duration of the show? It was okay, though, because we were at the back and no one really noticed except for a choice few jerkish boys. The asshole dancing turned into a big joke and we pulled it through the entire weekend. We are such gerks. Yeaaah.

I got suckered into watching the Brit Awards last night. I'm still not quite sure how. One second we were watching Crocodile Dundee in Los Angeles [don't ask -- it was all my 2 year old nephew's fault], and the next second, the Brits. Good for the anglophile in me, I suppose, but award shows have never been my thing.

I figured it was the Gorillaz live 'performance' that pulled me in. I remember a few years back [it's probably a lot longer than I think] when an animated pop star appeared in Japan. The world was told that this was the future of pop: completely fabricated bands, as opposed to the mostly-fabricated b-boys [etc]. Complete image control for the producers, the record companies. Scandals only occuring when needed for extra publicity. At the time, I scoffed. Real rockstars will always be an option, I said. It'll never fly.

Time to eat crow.

The Gorillaz have garnered more than enough attention to discredit my theory [not that I was 'against' the Gorillaz initially or anything. I <3 them. Damon Albarn, c'mon. Groove]. Go Gorillaz, go animated pop stars. Ha! As long as we still have the 'real thing' around, of course.

'Meet me in the bathroom...' - The Strokes

the bottom line is love