remove ad
shower mohawk
Nov 24, 2001
10:37 pm

'Being in love means you're completely broken' - Songs: Ohia

Intelligence at its finest:

We can love only that which in one way or another has importance for us. But with cathexis there is always the risk of loss or rejection. If you move out to another human being, there is always the risk that that person will move away from you, leaving you more painfully alone than you were before. Love anything that lives - a person, a pet, a plant - and it will die. Trust anybody and you may be hurt; depend on anyone and they may let you down. The price of cathexis is pain. If someone is determined not to risk pain, then such a person must do without many things: having children, getting married, the ecstacy of sex, the hope of ambition, friendship - all that makes life alive, meaningful and significant. Move out or grow in any dimension and pain as well as joy will be your reward. A full life will be full of pain. But the only alternative is not to live fully or not to live at all.

That hurts and heals at the same time. I love you for saying that. I love you for always coming around when I'm at the end of my rope. How do you know?

I feel like myself again. I am myself again. Thank you.

'You say I've got no reasons for leaving, but reasons are all I have left...' - Art Of Fighting

the bottom line is love