remove ad
shower mohawk
Mar 05, 2003
04:07 pm

'you're tougher than the police when you pull me off the highway, i'm not moving up to speed the slow way has always been my way' - Hawksley Workman

I've been listening to a lot of Hawksley lately, re-hashing my love of his music + his words. It always makes me think of way back in the day when I received a few e.mails from him, circa the Isadora days. 'I thought you might understand,' he said then. I kick myself now for not saving those e.mails. Bah. They were the Isadora letters. In any case, his words never fail to rip my insides out.

I've had a lot of fantastic phone conversations lately. A lot of it is due to talking to the illustrious andy every day again. You have no idea how happy that makes me [or perhaps you do, if you know the history]. Things in my life are starting to make sense again, as they only can with her around. I half-forgot just how dorky + love-filled we get with one another. In any case, it's divine.

I had a very good [very long + expensive, too] phone call with the aussie bro the other night as well. Nice to hear he's doing not-so-badly now and also to have his insight into my life again. Not so strangely, we have a lot more in common when it comes to relationships than perhaps we once thought. He never fails to amaze me with what he is becoming [or just is], this wonderful person that is my brother. Luckily, he still knows how to tease his sister right when it counts, though. I wouldn't want to lose that in too-serious-talks, heh.

I had a lovely surprise Monday night with a phone call from the lovely Leah. She, being the perfect friend that she is, had rented a movie I was dying to see [The Rules Of Attraction... very odd] + declared she had a present for me. No reason, no rhyme, completely unwarranted. Just because. So I had a stellar movie night, complete with pizza + an unexpected new outfit that I couldn't afford to buy myself as a present. I have the sweetest friends.

Hmm. Boy gave me an autobiographical mixcd. Yeah, I'm smitten now, most definitely. Except I'm hitting paranoia stage, which I hate. I'm convinced I'm going to screw something up, but... we'll see, I guess. He's definitely worth the struggle + effort.

It's hilarious at work these days because a bunch of us are working through brand new relationships. Hence, we're all a bunch of gushing geeks about it, heh. It's grand, though, because we're all so giddy + happy, so we spend our shifts exchanging adorable stories. I love it. It makes me want to go to work these days.

I'm a little miffed because the rock-n-roll wonder that is the Busboyeez were supposed to have their cd release party tonight, but it has been postponed. Boo hiss. Instead, a Wednesday night at Zaphod's is in order, because we haven't had one of those in... months, probably. The last time we tried, it was closed for a private party... and that was sometime in January. Perfect Gaz tunes, here we come...

Note: I am rather fond of this girl's writing lately.

'Shyness is nice and shyness can stop you...' - The Smiths

the bottom line is love