remove ad
shower mohawk
Feb 21, 2003
01:11 pm

'I turn pale when she walks by, I am lost in her eyes...' - Phantom Planet

I am becoming the queen of 1-month updates. Er, or longer. Shame on me [yeah yeah, I always say that, I know...]. I can't even say I've been busy, except perhaps busy being sick.

This was supposed to be shows week. Well, it kind of was shows week, but then I got too much of the rock [is that possible? they scream. Yes, sometimes.] The Postage Stamps rocked my socks off Monday night ['did they just turn into a completely different band for this song?!']. Went for a total last-minute North of America show on Tuesday which was beyond divine. The last time I saw them, they played in someone's basement. And it was tight [as in a tight squeeze, but they were also a tight band that night]. But now... dear me, I forgot how fabulous they were [insert gush gush gush about various Halifax indie kids]. Speaking of, tripped out to see Jon Epworth Wednesday night. A little bit of a Busboyeez soul in him. Even better than that though was a surprise [well, surprise to me] performance by Rolf of Recoilers fame [? err... that might be pushing it], solo with his computer as a drum machine. Beautiful + Natural.

Then I skipped Nuginduck last night because I was lazy + tired + decided it would be a better idea to watch Parsley Days again and write. Good times. And I don't think I'll get to see the Polytones tonight because boy won't go to Zaphod's anymore. Or for a while, or something, meh. And Bitchin Camaros are playing Saturday, but I'd much rather spend the night with the illustrious and hilarious Mmikers. Rocksolid.

Now that we've wrapped up the indierawk portion of this soon-to-be-massively-long entry, time to pull out the big crush guns. And I'm not even talking about Pretty Bus Boy [even if I have seen a LOT of him lately. swoon-ish]. Rather, boy. The boy. A boy. About A Boy. Er, nevermind. I have nothing to say about him, ha ha! Just kidding.

Watching the new Matt Good video last night make me start laughing my ass off because he has boy's glasses [uh, who doesn't, but anyway... We're both silly arts kids, so it's fine.] + boy's delicious zip-up shirt. Ha ha! I am dating Matt Good, shuck shuck. As Leah put it, 'No one dates anymore. Well, except you two. It's so cuuuuuuuuuute.' Ahh, shutup. It is not. It's stressful and silliness, gah!

Ok, apparently I can't talk seriously about him, so I just won't. I'll just keep on silly girl gushing.

So, of course I made him a mixtape, right? Cause it's me. And it's a silly boy who actually says, 'You have to teach me about all this good music...' Oh, swoon-worthy, indeed! How could I resist?! So here she whoas:

side one

  1. VEAL - i hate your lipstick
  2. HOT HOT HEAT - le le low
  3. HAWKSLEY WORKMAN - jealous of your cigarette
  4. WEEZER - el scorcho
  5. BEULAH - silver lining
  6. BEN FOLDS FIVE - army
  7. LUSH - ladykillers
  8. THE LOWEST OF THE LOW - salesmen, cheats + liars

side two

  1. SUPERFRIENDZ - blue tattoo
  2. JOEL PLASKETT EMERGENCY - true patriot love
  3. THRUSH HERMIT - french inhale
  4. SLOAN - deeper than beauty
  5. PHANTOM PLANET - always on my mind
  6. THE POP SHOVE ITS - off the rails
  7. THE CARNATIONS - never easy
  8. STARLING - earnest
  9. RON HAWKINS + THE RUSTY NAILS - crackstatic

Aptly titled 'Sing Me A Story I Haven't Heard Yet.' I almost didn't put 'Blue Tattoo' on until it was justly pointed out to me that it had to be there, namely because he used to only be able to recognize me by that tattoo. Silliness! And I absolutely cannot stop dancing around my room to it. That means it definitely passes the jessrawk-perfect-mixtape test.

Apparently, I lost my writing skills here. Err... Sorry. I'll be normal again in a few days.

And I met someone the other day who actually knew about Don McKellar + Bruce McDonald's [old] project of Yummyfur. Hol-ee!

My soul, I need a new layout. That's the order of the day...

'I feel great, I lied to save your feelings...' - REM

the bottom line is love