remove ad
shower mohawk
Sept 17, 2002
10:07 pm

'I hate your lipstick cause it covers your mouth up so i can't kiss it' - Veal

The weekend's concerts did not disappoint. I missed the Carnations [because I was still at the Veal show while they were playing], but I caught Starling and Veal.

Veal were absolutely unbelievable. I forgot how deliciously fantastic they were in concert... and I do believe they've gotten much, much better. Too perfect. And the lighting simply must be commented on. They killed all the stage lights and hung one single, bare bulb from the front lighting rig. Every so often, Luke or Nik would reach out with their hand [if they could reach] or their guitars and set it swinging. It created the perfect basement practice atmosphere.

And Starling. Beautiful and natural as usual. The night turned out much easier than I expected it to be. And they rocked and they rolled. Plenty of people there, unlike the nearly-empty cd release party. When everyone is out in full force, it makes a show so much more enjoyable.

Did I mention The Lowest of the Low are coming back? eep! Ron Hawkins! Now, if only the Weakerthans would return, I could see all my hereos within a month or so. Pure heaven.

I had to try so hard to keep myself composed during my american literature class this morning. My prof was rambling on about the Puritans belief in severe punishment for sins [ie: Sinners in the Angry Hands of God]. All that I could hear cycling through my head was, 'You're an evil girl! You're going to hell!' And, in relation to the fall of man, all I could think of was his insistence that he was just the innocent boy and i, the evil temptress girl. How fitting, ha!

I was whining the other day that I never see your poem on the bus. Every other semi-o.k. poet, but never your 'train.' Then, this morning, in the middle of my excellent week, there you are, in all your glory and beauty of words. A perfect morning. But I cannot believe I missed your reading again. I, once again, completely planned to be there and... fuck, stupid me: I never checked the date until two days after.

I used to hate it when everything happened at once. Now, I'm so used to it, I thrive for these moments. C'mon c'mon c'mon, we're gonna get it started...

A new tattoo for my birthday? I think so...

'Why be a song when you can be a symphony?' - Booth & the Bad Angel

the bottom line is love