remove ad
shower mohawk
Apr 10, 2002
07:17 pm

'I just wanna misbehave. I just wanna be your slave.' - The Strokes

Don't you hate it when the memories associated with a band are better than the music itself? Argh. It's hard to impress that feeling upon someone else. Impossible, even, unless they're a part of the memories... Pity.

I've said it many times before, but I'll reiterate: it's amazing what a little bit of sunshine and blue sky can do for you. Yesterday, I walked to work in the rain. It wasn't very pleasant and my mood followed suit.

This morning, however, I awoke to beautiful sunshine and blue sky. I sauntered to work, half-skipping along the way. I had a fantastic day, including a surprise visit from one of my most favourite people in the world, my ex-boss.

We have a weird relationship. There's thirty+ years between us, but we might as well be siblings for how close we've grown. We've helped each other through innumerable rough spots. Honestly, I can't put into words what she means to me. [sap alert, sorry].

That being said, I was almost... nervous when she showed up today. I kept postponing leaving the store to go for coffee with her. I did everything I could to avoid being alone with her. Sometimes I'm so shy, it's idiotic. Even with people I know as well as her. Silliness, but that's me.

The walk home was more splendid than even this morning's. What can top walking home listening to The Weakerthans' Confessions Of A Futon-Revolutionist [alt.country version], with robins and squirrels chittering in the background? Absolutely nothing. Add to that more deliciously heartwarming sunshine and the same clear blue sky, and there you have it: Just Like Heaven. Yummyfur.

Everywhere I looked, people were sitting on their porches, basking in the long-overdue glow. So now I'm doing the same. Sure I'll end up with a wicked sunburn in the next ten minutes, but the melanoma is worth it if it makes me this content.

Later, on to Zaphod's to dance my heart out to all the best music you could ever ask for from a DJ [or anyone for that matter]. Like The Strokes' New York City Cops and Le Tigre's Deceptacon. Yowza! <3.

'We like the cars that go BOOM!' - Le Tigre

the bottom line is love