remove ad
shower mohawk
Mar 26, 2002
10:01 pm

'There is no such thing as a weird human being. It's just that some people require more understanding than others.' - Tom Robbins

I am an idiot. Proof positive, today only:

This morning when I went to put my sneakers on to go to work at my old lady clothing store, I realized I had a huge hole in my sock, just above the big toe. The kind of hole that, as the day passes, slips over your toe like a noose until that poor sucker is choking for breath. Instead of going back downstairs and finding a new pair of [matching] blue socks //which would take entirely too much time, thereby making me late for work: bad scene/, I decided on a better plan of action. I stuck a big ol' piece of masking tape over the hole to prevent it from slipping over my toe. Fourteen hours later and my toe has yet to be suffocated. Pure genius.

Then tonight, I stepped off the bus and started walking up to catch my connecting bus. I halted, turned around, and looked up at the sky. It was snowing those beautiful chunky bunches of snowflakes that only happen a few times a year. Seeing as it's the end of March, I decided I needed to take advantage of the beauty of an orange sky before it stops snowing completely. So I start to trek home //which is about a fifteen or twenty minute walk/. Okay, if I had known there were knee-deep snowbanks along the way [read: all the way home], I think I would have declined that brilliant idea of my own. I am soaked straight through to my underwear now. Terrifically cold. And for some reason, even though I was wearing my glasses, the snow kept falling right into my eye. Argh! So I've decided that from now until about May [it should have stopped snowing by at least then, right? ha!], I will carry ski goggles in my bag for protection from flying snow. Perfect.

Someone told me a little while back that I wrote like David Foster Wallace. Intrigued, I looked everywhere for a novel or story or essay by him for a while. After a very unfruitful search, I gave up. And then I found one by accident last week //Girl With Curious Hair/ and I am in love. I've yet to see the connection between his writing and mine, really, but... tis grand, nonetheless.

'If you've got to be going...'
'... you might as well be coming.'

the bottom line is love