remove ad
shower mohawk
Mar 12, 2002
09:27 pm

'Song for the beautiful loser...' - Catatonia

Hearing Train's 'Meet Virginia' rockets me back to working at Silvercity. Subsequently, I found something I wrote back then [since my brain is too messed at the moment to write anything decent] which stemmed from being forcefed the same gum commercial day after day after day. Completely tongue in cheek. How things change...

//I am part of a target market and the marketers have hit the bullseye.

Marketers know just how to get to my heart [<3]. I thought I'd never fall prey to slick advertising. I assumed I'd consistently remain a non-consumer unfazed by styling advertisements.

I was totally wrong.

I am in love with [not so much] the product in question, but the commercial itself. I'm not sure if that makes things better or worse.

//I make myself sick with anti-consumerism greed.

I wish I could be like all the other cool cats and say I've fallen in love with the latest GAP commercial [with whatever catchy song swimming in the background]. But no. Not even close.

Much to the contrary, I've fallen in love with a gum commercial. A bloody gum commercial. No, I don't mean Bleeding Gums Murphy from the Simpsons; I'm talking about Dentyne Ice.

Dentyne Ice Shiver. It has a lot to do with the pretty boy in the commercial [but of course; are not all things crush-related with me?]. Actually, it has everything to do with the pretty boy and sexy girl.

The passion, the tension, the hesitation. So desperately wanting, so perfectly suited to my tastes.

It makes me sick in a young-girl-fake-fantasy sort of way.

The gaze between two people aching to use one another. The [ha!] Shiver exchanged in a touch. Perfection. In a bloody advertisement.

Why can't Hollywood be as good?

[Gah! Laura is alive! karmicupswingplease.]

The end of the night never comes quickly for me' - Catatonia

the bottom line is love