remove ad
shower mohawk
Jul 03, 2001
11:04 am

'You've been chosen as an extra in the movie adaptation of the sequel to your life' - Pavement

I couldn't have asked for a better Canada Day. Filled with beautiful people, beautiful tunes, beautiful dancing, beautiful places. Sure, it may have been extra windy and really cold, but we were safe inside Zaphod's, dancing away to the last Lister set before they move to LA. Followed by the perfect set of tunes by DJ Gaz... including Thrush Hermit [!!] and Sloan. Like I say, perfection... except for maybe the part where I slice my finger open on a piece of broken glass... but the good with the bad, eh?

Sure, I had to work, but I got a funny story out of it...

My pal Mari and I were both working till five on Canada Day, although it was a rather lax day because no one was actually at the mall. In any case, I walked outside with her at one point in the afternoon so she could have a cigarette. As we're stepping out into the fresh air, I see this adorable sexy cute boy walking towards us, talking on a cell phone. As we met in the middle of the entranceway, he winked at me. Or at least, I thought he had, but I didn't know the boy so I thought perhaps I was imagining it.
Mari: Jess...?
Jess: Yeah?
Mari: Who was that?
Jess: I dunno
Mari: He winked at you!
Jess: Ahh I know!
So I wasn't imagining it. No big deal, we continue our conversation and I more or less forget about this adorable boy that appeared out of nowhere. Then he reappears, walking back to his car. He was parked a few cars in, so we couldn't actually see his car, just him getting into it.
Mari: What kind of car is he driving?
Jess: I don't know yet...
He pulls out in a white Suzuki, or some similar crap import.
Jess: Oh, well that kills him. Too bad.
Then he pulls up to the intersection just to the right of us, begins to turn away from us, then squeals [if one can actually squeal in a Suzuki] around towards us. He then proceeds to drive by us at about 3 km/h, staring intent/intensely at us.
Mari: Holy crap! That is the slyest look I have ever seen...
Jess: See? That's why boys can be fun...

Silliness. Utter silliness. I guess when she went to buy us coffee a little later on, he was sitting at Second Cup and kind of looked at her, then looked around her, as if to say 'where is she?'. Boys make me laugh. But not half as much as I make myself laugh.

I don't think I said 'Happy Canada Day' once throughout the day... oddly enough. We did shots, but toasted to 'the best DJ!' instead of Canada. Whoops. Does that make me unpatriotic? Ha!

'You're so beautiful to look at when you cry...' - Pavement

the bottom line is love