remove ad
shower mohawk
Apr 02, 2001
06:24 pm

'Think unsexy thoughts! Think unsexy thoughts!' - Albert

I've sworn off love again. I never really jumped back in again, but I found myself at the starting gate for a while. All it got me was more cracks and bruises though, so no more of that. No more crushes. No more cheated glances. No more falling. No more. No more. No more. I just reminded myself how much it's not worth it. If anyone wants to try and convince me otherwise, go right ahead... good luck...

If you were to ask me to sum up my week in two words, they would be: Zaphod's & work. That is, when I wasn't at work, I was at Zaphod's & when I wasn't at Zaphod's, I was at work. Fancy that's one hell of a lot of rock-n-roll in a week. This week will be much the same... more getting in good with the bar staff [Matt: 'If I kick her out, will you stay?', in reference to a crazy lady who was chasing me around the dance floor with a bottle of perfume and raking her nails across my back ahh!]

Speaking of which, when we showed up at Zaphod's on Saturday for the Candidates, who should be standing all by his lonesome by the door but Albert, our favourite grand bouncer from Barrymore's. Woo rock! He ended up spending the whole night with us, introducing us to all bar staff, past & present [so at least now we know their names and can stop calling them 'Barrymore's Attitude Bus Boy', etc... but it's much more fun to call them things like that anyway ha!]. He even came up and danced with me during Disco 2000. Yay for Pulp dancing! Turns out he lives with two-thirds of the Pop Shove-Its! Ha! And, consequently, his band [Bitchin' Camaros] are playing a show with said fantastic Pop Shove-Its this Friday. He told us if we didn't go, he'd never forgive us... which means never getting into Barrymore's again awww! hahaha

Did I mention it was a candy necklace night? Completely by chance, but damn they're fun games! Leah gave one to Marco and he went ballistic. Then when we got to Barrymore's, Albert was wearing one, so we had to steal a bunch of candies from him ['I feel like I should be thanking you...' he says]. Yummyfur!

Adam was back to his old tricks of not letting me pay for drinks. I handed him cash last night and gave him a look so he'd actually take it, so he goes 'Fine, I'll get change,' and returns to hand me the same amount of money back in change. Ca-ray-zay bartenders, gotta love em!

I really think everyone is getting sick of my gay fetishism... or whatever you want to call it. Leah ordered me to change my tastes. How about if I just don't taste at all any longer? Leah also suggested I satisfy any boy cravings with candy necklaces. hahaha perfect.

While on the topic of sadness [or whatever you want to call my mood the past little while], I suppose I should mention all the sweethearts who tried to make my night better yesterday. Leah danced 'like a fool' to get me to smile and then ordered Lister to cheer me up. Subsequently, Stu took on the job and played 'Set It Off' for me:

'That worked, eh Jess? Brought a smile to your face. Sometimes all it takes is a good pop song. Of course, sometimes it takes a lot more, but let's hope you're in category A...'

Then Zev [aka Hokey Pokey boy!] showed up at Zaphod's and got me to dance my bad time away. Marco did his fair share as well, not to mention Adam and Albert, dear kind Albert. And, strangely, enough Zev's friends and Shanna, too. Darlings all. Especially Leah. I wouldn't have survived the night without her. She's the perfect kitten.

Did I mentioned lately how much I heart Laura? She is my saviour. =) Mackenzie's pretty good at putting up with me as well... Mari also kicks ass for making the most supreme mixcd. It's completely filled with all the best Zaphod's songs... or at least the ones she could fit on there.

PS: I apologize for the neglect as of late... I will be back in such full swing now that you'll be sick of me, I promise... ha!

'You've been going around telling people how cool I am, have you?' - Albert

the bottom line is love