remove ad
shower mohawk
Roct 09, 2000
11:41 am

'The metal of those hearts that you always end up pressing your tongue to...' - Weakerthans

What a weekend. And it's not even over yet. Yummy delicious rock shows and parties all around. Besides that, there's been a ton of updates around here, so have a look around. There's more coming in the next two days too, so have a look-see. I figured it was high time I did something with this place. Look for lots more kickass photos coming up, kay? Anyway, on with the flaming rabbits show...

Actually, let's start with the flaming rabbits show... er, my 'party' that is. I've officially titled it the flaming rabbits show now, okay? hahaha. It was some damn good times [was there ever any doubt?!]. We figured out what kind of a drunk Mike is [silly... that's my conclusion anyway], almost [?] taught him a few songs on the guitar [at least I tried to teach him a few chords...], drank plenty of Corona [cheers Patty!], 'watched' High Fidelity again... and generally just acted like idiots. hahaha But idiots in a well-decorated basement, at least. The ikea lamp was reading 'no love' for the night... it's actually still reading that because I haven't changed it yet... so if you're coming over like you planned last week, don't bring any love. [PS - check out the 'fun' section for something from the party]

And now, as I sit here staring at my purple-stamped, red-outlined hands, last night's events are coming flooding back. Can you even call them events though? Yeah, I think so. Last night was, of course, The great Weakerthans. Oh my soul. However, although that was the best part of the night, it wasn't the end of it... but we'll get to North Of America in a minute... hahaha!

So, Jonny Boy had to bail on me for Weakerthans at the last minute due to familial commitments. He was really upset cause he was really looking forward to seeing them with me again after seeing them together in April in T.O. [people from there don't call it that - Brendan Canning]. So, with everyone else out of town for Thanksgiving, or back in town and eating Thanksgiving dinner, off I went to Babylon's all by lonesome. Not that I was too concerned though, cause Chris or Ted or whomever else is always there. Blah blah blah arrived, Chris was at the door... I made fun of their elaborate underage drinking technique... stamp the hand, then outline it in red marker. Very creative, boys. He is an artiste after all...

Yeaaaaaah. So I found John & Leah and we chatted it up. Leah was exxxcited to be seeing Flashing Lights & Bucket Truck when she goes home next weekend... Woo! The first 2 bands weren't fantastic or anything, but they were fun. One of them sorta reminded me of Glueleg... but mostly because the singer played sax. Hehehe. So, up we went to the stage for... Weakerthans.

Is it possible for a band to become THAT much better in 6 months? In this case, yeah. They were all hamming it up about this being their last stop of a long tour and about 'coming a long way' to play in Ottawa... but it wasn't like the crowd wasn't appreciative.

Oh yes! A slight interlude, because I simply must. John was sick last night and was carrying a whole BOX of Kleenex in his bag. So Leah and I were trying to comprehend why he would bring a whole box and not just some tissues. Anywayyyy, so then before John [from Weakerthans] started the show, he was sniffling and goes 'Does anyone have a kleenex?'. Leah and I just started laughing our heads off as John pulled out his Kleenex box and held it out to John on stage. The look on his face [Weakerthans-John] was BEYOND priceless... and then Leah and I couldn't stop laughing for a decent few minutes over the whole thing. It was just too good!

Yeah, so I'm rambling, but it was so much fun, I can't help it!! So they rocked and rolled and played and were... beyond flaming fantastic. They even did the country-style Confessions of a Futon Revolutionist that I love so much! Ack!!! Anyone who missed it... kick yourself now cause you SUCK! hahaha. Oh and of course I took lots of pictures... as promised for dear Nettie & Jennie, of the Weakerthans page... and for my own evil purposes as well... hahhahaha. They'll be up here as soon as they are developed... woo! And John K. even did a beautiful 2-song solo 'encore' while John P. fixed his bass. It was awe-inspiring to hear My Favourite Chords live again. I love that song...

So we knew the Weakerthans were going to blow my mind [they always do] and almost make me cry with the... sincerity... or something. That's nothing new, right? But as I came in the door earlier in the night, I picked up a couple of flyers and one of them said it was a Weakerthans after-party with none other than... North Of America!!! Not wanting to pass up a chance to see this kick-ass Hali band, I decided I had to go. However, it was bugging me how there was no club name for the location...

So... Mare arrived just a little into the Weakerthans set and after the show we headed over to where this 'after-party' was supposed to be. Now let me tell... we drove around the block of Argyle about 10 times... and it's one damn small street, so it's not like we were missing it everytime. So I joked that 'maybe it's just a house'... hahhhaha... we laughed... and kept driving around. Until I realized... upon seeing the number 61 [my lucky number, no less!]... that it was a house. hahhaha. After getting over the initial shock, we went to the house... and we only mildly frightened. hahaha. All I could think of was Dylan & Patrick's Toronto house parties... specifically the Thrush Hermit Halloween one... so I was a little saddened, but it was cool.

So we ventured into the basement... which was exxxactly the same and as scary as Sandy's... and there was North of America setting up. Talk about... luck... or something. Woo! So we got to rock out to North of America in some guy named Tim's basement. hahaha. It was more than insanity, it was a damn good time. Definitely not something to forget.

Sorry, one last Weakerthans thing that maybe someone can help me with. I forgot to ask John K.... is that a picture of Kurt Dahle on his guitar!??! Tell me if you know... 'We don't have to play this song for 24 days... alright!' - John K., about 'Letter Of Resignation'.

Okay, and now that I've talked your ear off with boredom [yeah boredom, I know it, don't worry], go look at some of the more amusing stuff around here that I've just put up.

I especially love you today. A little more than yesterday, a little less than tomorrow...

'Had one of those days when you want to try heroin, drunk driving, some form of soft suicide.' - Weakerthans

the bottom line is love